Runners’ Necesities: Vaseline

I find Vaseline great for the blisters I get on the back of my feet after running a couple of miles (sadly, I had to use some Vaseline today because after a few days of training to run the 5K, my feet are starting to feel the pressure!). I was told that Vaseline or pure petroleum jelly is a necessity for runners when their feet start chafing and I find this oh so true!

Chafing is a common ailment among runners and can be extremely painful during and after running. Here are some tips on prevent and treat chafing.

Symptoms of Chafing:

The most common symptom of chafing is a painful stinging or burning sensation. The area is usually red and raw.

Cause of Chafing:

Chafing is caused by repeated motion — specifically, skin rubbing against loose fabric or other skin. Chafing most often occurs around the bra line (women), nipples (men), inner thighs, groin, and under the arms. Moisture, either from sweat or rain, can worsen chafing. It can also be caused by a poorly fitted bra and clothes with rough seams.

How to Prevent Chafing:

Before long runs (you don’t have to worry too much about chafing during your shorter runs), spread a thin layer of BodyGlide or Vaseline on vulnerable areas.

(Taken from running.about.com)

vaseline

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I really only get chafing on the back of my feet. I really didn’t need to know that people can get it in their inner thighs, groin, nipples, and other gross body parts! There are other ways as well to prevent chafing but I find that Vaseline is the best way for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

